RSS

The Sapphire Quail Dove Ambassador

28 Jun
The Sapphire Quail Dove Ambassador


While hiking in the rainforest of Ecuador near the Napo river with Christopher in April I encountered this rare Sapphire Quail Dove. She appeared out of the jungle and followed my small group for most of our long hike over ravines and across washes. It seemed to me she was an ambassador of the jungle seeking recognition, compassion, and unity with the humans passing in her realm. I crouched on the ground and she approached me allowing me to touch her and stroke her breast. Later she again approached and did a shivery mating dance of communion and then stopped to invite me to again stroke her from head to tail.

That day I learned that the biggest reserves of oil had just been discovered beneath the most pristine and sensitive section of the Ecuadoran rainforest, development of which would threaten the entire ecosystem. The Ecuadoran government has approached the developed world’s governments to ask whether they would be willing to pay to NOT drill into these reserves thereby preserving the integrity of the forest. The developed nations have taken so many natural resources from these countries without a fair return. This idea seems an innovative, fair, and just one to me.

Many important medical cures have been discovered in the last few years from plants and animals living in the vast biodiversity of this rainforest. One can say that this part of the world holds the cures to all of the world’s ills if we can just keep the plants and animals alive long enough to discover them. The Sapphire Quail Dove asks us to help save her and her home and by doing so also save ourselves.

Here is a link to an index of Rainforest Preservation Organizations and more if you feel inspired to action.(you will need to cut and paste this link into your browser) http://rain-tree.com/links.htm

Here is a link to an article outlining Ecuador’s initiative to keep from drilling with still more links inside the article itself. (you will need to cut and paste this link into your browser)http://polynomial.me.uk/2011/05/22/the-yasuni-rainforest-campaign-an-ancient-rainforest-reserve-vs-our-need-for-oil/

Here is a link to a short youtube video shot that day of The Sapphire Quail Dove and our first encounter.(you will need to cut and paste this link into your browser) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qS1eM68ovS4

The encounter I had with the rainforest and the Sapphire Quail Dove was energetically intense and I found myself leaking tears for the rest of that day and evening. The rainforest and it’s creatures form a vast living intelligence that is seeking to communicate with us all. The intelligence here is encompassing, ancient, and far wiser than we. While I had been moving toward a vegetarian lifestyle before I came to visit here I found myself leaving this place committed to being a vegetarian and walking even lighter upon the earth and her sacred resources. Christopher has a T-Shirt from PlantSavers.org that has a saying I like very much. “If you listen, they will teach you”. That day I heard the message.

My thanks and love to Christopher Emmer for shooting these photos and video. Christopher is a brilliant and loving spiritual counselor and psychic channel with over 30 years of experience. You can contact him at http://www.exmarksthespot.com

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “The Sapphire Quail Dove Ambassador

  1. paperwghts

    November 26, 2012 at 4:58 am

    I was with a Gate1 tour group hiking along the Napa river in October 2011 when we stumbled across this exact same bird. It followed us like a puppy. I took several still pictures. I finally got around to looking it up on Google tonight and found your post. I am positive it is the same bird. What are the odds?

     
    • souljourneydesign

      November 26, 2012 at 8:12 am

      I would bet is was the same bird. I got a very strong impression from her that she was an “ambassador” of the rainforest trying to reach out and make contact with an alien species – us. I’m glad she got your attention. My contact with her and the rainforest was so potent that I have been a vegetarian ever since.

       

Leave a Reply

 
